Sign Up For Email/Text Updates

First Name:
Last Name:
E-mail Address:
Sign up for the following:




Company Name:
Address:
City:
State:
ZIP:
Mobile Phone:

Academic Support Center


ASC LOGO304.214.8923  / asc@wvncc.edu
ASC Mission:
To motivate and empower students to become successful and independent learners.


WE NEED YOUR HELP!
Share your ASC experience with us. Your feedback is critical to the success of our Centers. FEEDBACK PLEASE CLICK HERE! 


ASC Goals:

  1. Provide interactive academic spaces to reinforce and extend student learning
  2. Provide a variety of holistic and comprehensive support services and programs that enhance academic success, personal growth, retention, and graduation
  3. Align programs and services with best practices in student learning theory and addressing diverse student learning needs
  4. Uphold scholarly integrity and academic honesty in all learning center programs and service
  5. Maintain a staff of learning center professionals who are consistently connected to the field of learning centers in higher education and learning assistance
  6. To effectively brand and consistently promote the learning center virtually and on-campus
  7. Maintain a process of consistent and continual review and quality improvement in programs/services - including analysis of strengths, challenges, and appropriate corrective actions - annually

Values:

  • Work Ethic & Tenacity
  • Communication & Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Growth & Responsibility
  • Life-Long Learning & Growth Mindset

 ASC STAFF

CJ Farnsworth, Director 304.214.8853 / cfarnsworth@wvncc.edu
Robin Evans, Administrative Assistant 304.214.8923 / revans2@wvncc.edu 
Stephanie Smith, Program Associate/Tutoring Coordinator 304.214.8922 / ssmith@wvncc.edu
Kris Matyskiela, Lead Tutor (WHG) 304.214.8993 / kmatyskiela@wvncc.edu
Kristi Aulick, Academic Advisor 304.214.8921 /kaulick@wvncc.edu
Ida Williams, ASC Coordinator/Weirton 304.723.7514 / iwilliams@wvncc.edu
Casey Lyons, Lead Tutor (WRT) 304.723.2282 / clyons@wvncc.edu
Dennis Bills, ASC Coordinator/New Martinsville 304.510.8773 / dbills@wvncc.edu
Kevin Stokes, Lead Tutor (NM) 304.510.8773 / kstokes@wvncc.edu
 

Academic Support Centers (ASCs) are located on all WVNCC campuses.  We provide holistic support services including, but not limited to:

  • Tutoring
  • Accessibility
  • Assistive Technology 
  • Advising
  • Review & Retest Program
  • Retention Initiatives
  • Supplemental Instruction
  • First-Year Seminar (FYS) Program
  • Mental Health Programming & Services
  • Student Computer Lab
  • Computer/Blackboard Assistance
  • Academic Recovery and Counseling

ASCs on Weirton and New Martinsville campuses also house tutoring, developmental fast track programs and accessibility services. Working closely with faculty and other student services staff, WVNCC Academic Support Centers seek to support the development of personal responsibility, self-management, and self-awareness that lead to academic, professional and personal success. 

We strive to offer a comfortable, student-centered, learning-focused environment where students of all races, religions, ethnicities, sexual orientations, genders, ages, ancestries, marital statuses, parental status, and abilities are welcome. Peer and paraprofessional tutors help students with the acquisition of content knowledge, critical thinking, and learning/study skills.

Retention and student success initiatives and programs are designed to increase overall retention and graduation rates. The ultimate goal of each ASC is to support students as they become confident, independent learners who persist academically and professionally.


HELPFUL LINKS:

Accessibility Office

Tutoring Program

Academic Advising 

HowToStudy.org